Types of Tawaf

  1. Tawaf Al-Qudum [i.e. Arrival Tawaf. It is the first Tawaf and is performed by all pilgrims irrespective of their type of Ihram. For the pilgrims offering Qirān and Tamattu’, this Tawaf is Tawaf ‘Umrah. It is characterised and distinguished by Al-Idtiba’a and jogging in the first three of the seven rounds by male pilgrims]
  2. Tawaf Al-Ifadah [Performed by all pilgrims after returning from the ‘Arafah. It is also called Tawaf Al-Ziyarah]
  3. Tawaf Al-Wada’ [i.e Farewell Tawaf. Menstruating women and
    women under blood of parturition are exempted from it]
  4. Tawaf Al-Tatawwi’ [i.e Supererogatory Tawaf, performed by
    anyone entering Al-Masjid Al-
    Haram (The Sacred Mosque) as a
    greeting to it]
  • Tawaf is the greeting to Al Masjid Al-Haram [The Sacred Mosque] for anyone who intends to perform Tawaf. However, if he does not intend to perform Tawaf, he should pray two raka’ahs before he sits down;
  • If a person because of age, sickness, or disability is unable to perform Tawaf or Sa’ay he may use a wheelchair;           
  • Women perform Tawaf along with men. However, they must not jostle and vie with men;
  • The Prophet [s.a.w.s] said: “Tawaf around the House is like the Salah, except that you could [freely] talk in it. Hence, whoever talks in it should utter nothing except Virtue.” [Ibn Khuzaimah]
  • Taharah Al-Hadath [i.e. Purity from Minor and Major Ritual Impurities] is a pre-requisite for Tawaf;
  • Taharah Al-Khabath [i.e. Purity from Physical Impurities] is a pre-requisite for Tawaf;
  • Covering Al-Awrah [the pudendum, as defined for men and women by Islamic Jurisprudence] is a pre-requisite for Tawaf;
  • There must be the Intention to perform the Tawaf
  • Tawaf must comprise seven [7] complete rounds around the whole of the Ka’abah starting each round exactly from and finishing it exactly at Al-Hajar Al-Aswad [The Black Stone]. Thus, the pilgrim must not move on Shadharwan Al-Ka’abah [no. 4 in the diagram]; and he must move behind Hijr Isma’il [no. 5 in the diagram], as it is part of the Ka’abah that has remained un-built and unroofed for well-known historical reasons;
  • The Ka’abah must be placed on the left of the pilgrim and he moves around it anticlockwise [as shown in the diagram];
  • Continuity, i.e. all the seven rounds of Tawaf should be completed at once, one round following another. However,
    If he breaks to observe an Obligatory or Funeral Prayer that is due, he should continue the round whence he stopped;
    If he breaks because his ablution has broken, he performs another ablution and starts the Tawaf anew, in accordance with the more authentic legal view;
    He may rest, if he is tired, and continue the Tawaf later.